Athens Food Tours: Farm to Table

Mary Charles Jordan has brought something exciting with her to Athens.

Mary Charles moved here a few months ago from the Research Triangle area, where she worked as a tour guide for Taste Carolina. Newly engaged and eager to get to know her new city (again–she graduated from UGA with a degree in Landscape Architecture), Mary Charles founded Athens Food Tours earlier this year. I’m now working with her as a Guide for tours of Athens restaurants.

Athens residents as well as tourists are interested in learning about the city’s bourgeoning food culture. I’ve accompanied Mary Charles on several tours now, and I’ve noticed that people tend to be struck by the same thing as they experience what Athens has to offer: we have really high-end food and not a bit of snobbery. These tours allow diners to see firsthand how generous and passionate the chefs are in our town (The National and Farm 255 come immediately to mind). It’s sophisticated food offered unemcumbered by the ‘mystique’ thought necessary in the past.

In this spirit, Mary Charles offers a “Farm to Table” tour that begins at the Farmers Market in Bishop Park and ends by a traipse through downtown Athens, from the Jittery Joe’s Roasting House to the refreshing Yoguri.

This guy is the best: Mr. Johnston expanded his once-small family farm because his sons, now 6 and 10, talk about nothing but helping run it someday (they love milking the cows!). His business is booming now–so much that he can hardly meet demand from the likes of Whole Foods and high-end Atlanta restaurants! “People are calling to ask me why they didn’t get their full order! I’ve been called everything but a child of God!” he told us with a mixture of glee and consternation.

Jittery Joe’s Roasting House

Complete with passionate instruction from Charlie.

Pauley’s. Strawberry. Nutella. I don’t think I need to say more.

The National. Fresh cantaloupe w/ aged balsamic, cucumber gazpacho (my favorite), arugula, fig and ricotta salad.

The best part: really cool people like Winston, Anna, and Michael.

Yoguri. Chocolate, bananas, Oreos.

6 thoughts on “Athens Food Tours: Farm to Table

  1. Awh hello! Im Tami and I have a blog too! Im a foodie and I would like to add you to my blog roll. We are neighbors, I live by Mall of Ga so I dont think thats too far from yah! Nice blog and we have to meet up because Im a foodie too lol

    • Hi Tami! I’ve heard of your blog from some friends on Twitter! :) I live in Jefferson and my husband works in Flowery Branch, so I am in that area a lot–our church is in Buford. We totally need to meet up. Buford has some AWESOME places to eat now! Have you been to Rico’s World Kitchen?

  2. Hi fellow food bloggers!

    After attending the foodblogforum last weekend, a couple of us decided it would be great to get together on a regular basis to talk about blogging, what’s working, what’s not and help each other out. It’s a chance for great networking and we’ll plan it around a meal. We’re planning on having our first meeting Wed. Sept 22 at 10:00 at OK Cafe near I-75 and West Paces Ferry Road. Please let me know if you can come. Hope to see you there!

    Becky Reynolds Smith
    http://whats4dinnertonite.wordpress.com/

  3. Hi Tami! These food tours look like so much fun! I spoke to you at the ATL Food Bloggers event with Tim the Cheeseman and I hope I’ll get to see you and talk to you at another one sometime soon. Do you have a new bambino???
    Becky

  4. What a great look into Athens! I’ve never been before, but I would sure love to visit after looking over your blog. I write a food blog here in Los Angeles and try and give a feel for the city, but I think you have captured your pieces very nicely and have inspired me! Thanks for the great posts!

Leave a Reply

